Pilgrimage in Hessenthal

More than a place of Christian faith

Tilman Riemenschneider is one of the most important master woodcarvers of the 15th century. One of his early works can be found in the Hessenthal pilgrimage church, not far from our hotel and conference center Schmerlenbach in Hösbach. "The Lamentation of Christ" is one of the most important Christian works of art of the 15th century. But the Marien pilgrimage church in Spessart has even more to offer.

The pilgrimage church is a real must-see, especially for architecture lovers. The place of pilgrimage consists of an ensemble of different buildings from the 15th, 16th and 17th centuries. The individual styles are clearly recognizable and make the place a special testimony to contemporary history. The ornate decoration of the tomb of the noble Echter family in the late Gothic side chapel is also worth seeing.

Pilgrimages take place five times a year: At Easter, Pentecost, the Assumption of Mary, the Nativity of Mary and the Immolation of Mary. Traditionally, a candlelight procession takes place on the evening before.

If you would like to take part, we will be happy to provide you with further information. We can also organize a guided tour of the Hessenthal pilgrimage church for you or your group from the hotel.

You can also visit the collegiate church in Aschaffenburg and the spiritual center of our hotel and conference center.

iiQ Check 4,4 / 5
StarBest price booking If you book directly, you can save up to 10 euros per night.
Request directly events

Wallfahrt in Hessenthal

Mehr als ein Ort des christlichen Glaubens

Tilman Riemenschneider ist einer der bedeutendsten Holzschnitzmeister des 15. Jahrhunderts. Eines seiner frühen Werke steht in der Wallfahrtskirche Hessenthal, unweit von unserem Hotel und Tagungszentrum Schmerlenbach in Hösbach. „Die Beweinung Christi“ ist eines der wichtigsten christlichen Kunstwerke des 15. Jahrhunderts. Doch die Marien-Wallfahrtskirche im Spessart hat noch mehr zu bieten.

Die Wallfahrtskirche ist vor allem für Architekturliebhaber ein echtes Muss. Denn der Wallfahrtsort besteht aus einem Ensemble unterschiedlicher Bauwerke des 15., 16. und 17. Jahrhunderts. Die einzelnen Stile lassen sich klar erkennen und machen den Ort zu einem besonderen Zeugnis der Zeitgeschichte. Sehenswert ist auch die kunstvolle Ausgestaltung der Grablege der Adelsfamilie Echter in der spätgotischen Seitenkapelle.

Wallfahrten finden fünf Mal im Jahr statt: Zu Ostern, Pfingsten, Mariä Himmelfahrt, Mariä Geburt und Mariä Opferung. Traditionell findet dann am Vorabend eine Lichterprozession statt.

Wenn Sie daran teilnehmen möchten, stellen wir Ihnen gerne alle weiteren Informationen zusammen. Auch organisieren wir für Sie oder Ihre Gruppe vom Hotel aus eine Führung durch die Wallfahrtskirche Hessenthal.

Besuchen Sie auch die Stiftskirche in Aschaffenburg und das Geistliche Zentrum unseres Hotels und Tagungszentrums.