From monastery to top conference hotel in Bavaria

The eventful history of the Schmerlenbach hotel and conference center

There is hardly a conference hotel that stands on such historic ground. The history of the monastery dates back to the 13th century. A lot has happened over the years, and where the Würzburg canon Gottfried von Kugelnberg founded the Schmerlenbach monastery in 1218 is now one of the most modern conference centers in Germany. But one thing has remained the same over the years: the Christian mission statement.

The monastery survived the Peasants' War, the Reformation and the Thirty Years' War almost unscathed. Under Abbess Engelberta von Rodenhausen, the monastery's pilgrimage church was rebuilt in the 18th century. After the death of the last abbess, the convent was dissolved in 1808. In 1812, Schmerlenbach became a parish and the pilgrimage church also became a parish church.

Finally, in the 1980s, the partially dilapidated monastery complex was rebuilt as a conference and education center for the diocese of Würzburg and harmoniously supplemented with new buildings from an ecological point of view. Further information can be found on the Sustainability page.

The story in pictures

As the former monastery buildings were very dilapidated, most of them had to be demolished in 1982. Many of the walls were made of sandstone, some of which was porous and had decomposed to such an extent that the walls and foundations could no longer bear the static load. Many parts of the building were therefore in danger of collapsing and could not be preserved.

The photos show the state of the monastery complex before the new construction from 1982 to 1985:

  • The old abbey from the 15th century (right) and the new abbey from the 17th century
  • The monastery courtyard around 1930
  • A view of the former monastery complex around 1970
  • The barn wing on the monastery wall around 1970
  • The abbey office building around 1970
  • The cloister with tombstones of abbesses around 1970
  • The only remaining historic building before the new construction in 1982

The religious and art-historical focal point of the church is the 30-centimetre-high miraculous image of "Our Lady of Schmerlenbach". It is carved from lime wood and dates back to the 14th century. The Gothic Pieta with the mournful and tearful face of Mary has made Schmerlenbach widely known in the saying "You look like the Mother of God of Schmerlebach". A pilgrimage to the miraculous image has been recorded since 1518 and is still very popular today.

Other art-historical features include a clay Madonna in the style of the "Beautiful Madonnas" from the early 15th century and a sandstone relief showing an old depiction of "Mary in the sun".

The pilgrimage church

The current church was built in the middle of the 18th century. It dates back to a predecessor church from the 13th century. The architecture of the pilgrimage church features motifs reminiscent of the great master builder Balthasar Neumann. The hall-like, narrow nave is adjoined by a choir. The ceiling is decorated with paintings dated 1759. In the nave they depict the glorification of St. Benedict, in the choir the Holy Trinity. The altars and pulpit date from the 18th century.

iiQ Check 4,4 / 5
StarBest price booking If you book directly, you can save up to 10 euros per night.
Request directly events

Vom Kloster zum Top-Tagungshotel in Bayern

Die bewegte Geschichte des Hotels und Tagungszentrums Schmerlenbach

Es gibt wohl kaum ein Tagungshotel, das auf so historischem Boden steht. Die Geschichte des Klosters reicht zurück bis ins 13. Jahrhundert. Über die Jahre ist eine Menge passiert, und dort, wo im Jahr 1218 der Würzburger Domherr Gottfried von Kugelnberg das Kloster Schmerlenbach stiftete, steht nun eines der modernsten Tagungszentren Deutschlands. Doch eines ist über all die Jahre geblieben: das christliche Leitbild.

Bauernkrieg, Reformation und den Dreißigjährigen Krieg überstand das Kloster nahezu unbeschadet. Unter Äbtissin Engelberta von Rodenhausen wurde die Wallfahrtskirche des Klosters im 18. Jahrhundert neu errichtet. Nach dem Tod der letzten Äbtissin löste man das Kloster im Jahre 1808 auf. 1812 wurde Schmerlenbach Pfarrei und die Wallfahrtskirche auch zur Pfarrkirche.

In den 1980er Jahren schließlich wurde die teilweise verfallene Klosteranlage als Tagungs- und Bildungszentrum des Bistums Würzburg neu aufgebaut und harmonisch unter ökologischen Gesichtspunkten mit Neuem ergänzt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Seite Nachhaltigkeit.

Die Geschichte in Bildern

Weil die ehemaligen Klostergebäude sehr baufällig waren, musste im Jahr 1982 der größte Teil von ihnen abgerissen werden. Viele Mauern waren aus Sandsteinen gebaut, der teilweise porös war und sich so zersetzt hatte, dass Mauern und Fundamente die statische Last nicht mehr tragen konnten. Viele Gebäudeteile waren daher einsturzgefährdet und damit nicht zu erhalten.

Die Fotos zeigen den Zustand der Klosteranlage vor dem Neubau 1982 bis 1985:

  • Die alte Abtei aus dem 15. Jahrhundert (rechts) und die neue Abtei aus dem 17. Jahrhundert
  • Der Klosterhof um 1930
  • Eine Ansicht der ehemaligen Klosteranlage um 1970
  • Der Scheunentrakt an der Klostermauer um 1970
  • Das Amtshaus der Abtei um 1970
  • Der Kreuzgang mit Grabsteinen von Äbtissinnen um 1970
  • Das einzig verbliebene historische Gebäude vor dem Neubau 1982

Religiöser und kunstgeschichtlicher Mittelpunkt der Kirche ist das nur 30 Zentimeter hohe Gnadenbild der „Muttergottes von Schmerlenbach“. Es ist aus Lindenholz geschnitzt und geht auf das 14. Jahrhundert zurück. Die gotische Pieta mit dem trauernden und tränenvollen Antlitz Marias hat Schmerlenbach in dem Sprichwort „Du schaust aus wie die Muttergottes von Schmerlebach“ weithin bekannt gemacht. Bereits seit 1518 ist eine Wallfahrt zum Gnadenbild überliefert, die sich bis heute großer Beliebtheit erfreut.

Zu den weiteren kunstgeschichtlichen Besonderheiten zählt eine aus Ton geschaffene Madonna in der Art der „Schönen Madonnen“ aus dem beginnenden 15. Jahrhundert sowie ein Sandsteinrelief, das eine alte Darstellung „Maria an der Sonne“ zeigt.

Die Wallfahrtskirche

Die heutige Kirche wurde Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts errichtet. Sie geht auf eine Vorgängerkirche zurück, die aus dem 13. Jahrhundert stammte. Die Architektur der Wallfahrtskirche weist Motive auf, die an den großen Baumeister Balthasar Neumann erinnern. Dem saalartigen, schmalen Langhaus schließt sich ein Chor an. Die Decke zieren auf 1759 datierte Gemälde. Im Langhaus stellen sie die Verherrlichung des heiligen Benedikt dar, im Chor die heilige Dreifaltigkeit. Altäre und Kanzel stammen aus dem 18. Jahrhundert.