On a journey through time in Seligenstadt am Main

Experiences between half-timbered houses and a monastery

A trip to Seligenstadt am Main is more than just a short city trip. It is a journey back in time: small alleyways, picturesque corners, well-kept, colorful half-timbered houses from different eras and impressive sights document the more than 1000-year history of Seligenstadt.

The old town in particular is an experience. In every corner you can see how much the people of Seligenstadt love their half-timbered houses. Well-kept and seasonally decorated, they present their little gems, many of which have been family-owned for centuries. We recommend that our guests take their time to soak up the historic flair of the old town alleyways and stroll around the Marktplatz and Freihofplatz squares.

A walk to the historic monastery grounds of the former Benedictine abbey in the middle of the old town is not to be missed. The Einhard basilica and the abbey with its convent garden were built by Charlemagne's biographer in the 9th century. The reconstructed 8000 square meter garden with its useful and ornamental plants, the apothecary and herb garden as well as the orangery is extremely impressive. The grounds can be visited without barriers.

We would also be happy to organize a guided tour of Seligenstadt for you. Take a look behind the scenes of the quaint and cozy town or take part in a themed tour on the date of your choice. We can also provide you with information about other excursion destinations in Aschaffenburg, such as Schönbusch Park.

iiQ Check 4,4 / 5
StarBest price booking If you book directly, you can save up to 10 euros per night.
Request directly events

Auf Zeitreise in Seligenstadt am Main

Erlebnisse zwischen Fachwerkhäusern und Kloster

Ein Ausflug nach Seligenstadt am Main ist mehr als ein kleiner Städtetrip. Es ist eine Reise in längst vergangene Tage: Kleine Gassen, malerische Winkel, gepflegte, farbenprächtige Fachwerkhäuser aus verschiedenen Epochen und eindrucksvolle Sehenswürdigkeiten dokumentieren die mehr als 1000-jährige Geschichte Seligenstadts.

Vor allem die Altstadt ist ein Erlebnis. In jedem Winkel lässt sich erkennen, wie sehr die Seligenstädter ihre Fachwerkhäuser lieben. Gepflegt und jahreszeitlich dekoriert präsentieren sie ihre kleinen Schmuckstücke, die oft schon seit Jahrhunderten in Familienbesitz sind. Wir empfehlen unseren Gästen, in Ruhe das historische Flair der Altstadtgassen aufzusaugen und ein wenig über den Markt- und Freihofplatz zu flanieren.

Einen Spaziergang auf das historische Klostergelände der ehemaligen Benediktinerabtei inmitten der Altstadt sollte man sich keinesfalls entgehen lassen. Die Einhard-Basilika und die Abtei mit Konventgarten wurde vom Biographen Karls des Großen im 9. Jahrhundert erbaut. Der rekonstruierte rund 8000 Quadratmeter große Garten mit seinen Nutz- und Zierpflanzen, dem Apotheker- und Kräutergarten sowie der Orangerie ist äußerst eindrucksvoll. Das Gelände ist barrierefrei zu besichtigen.

Gerne organisieren wir für Sie auch einen geführten Rundgang durch Seligenstadt. Blicken Sie hinter die Kulissen der urig-gemütlichen Stadt oder nehmen Sie zu Ihrem Wunschtermin an einer Themenführung teil. Ebenso informieren wir Sie über andere Ausflugsziele in Aschaffenburg, beispielsweise den Park Schönbusch.